Non Commercial Class A License Texas: Requirements, Cost, Test

When you use your RV or tow a larger trailer, you are not doing it to make money. That is called personal use. When you are using your RV, etc., to make money, then it is classified as commercial use. This should help you get the right license in Texas.

We are not sure of the exact cost but if you want to upgrade your license to a Class A, you have to take a test, put in an application, and schedule a driving test. To do all of this go to your local Texas driver’s license office and set everything up.

To learn more about this topic, just continue to read our article. Much of the information will come from 2020 so double-check to see if any changes have been made to this policy. The license goes by rated weight, not the actual weight of the vehicles involved

Texas Driver's License Requirements For RV


The first thing you need to know is that the owners of RVs and trailers are exempted from the commercial driver’s license requirements. They have their own requirements and you do not need a CDL to operate your personal RV or tow vehicle.

The license you are to get will depend on the weight of your RV or trailer + tow vehicle. Jeep in mind, that it is not the actual weight of the tow vehicle involved, but what tow weight it is rated for.

For example, if your tow vehicle weighs 8000 pounds but is rated for 12,000 towing weight, your combined weight of the trailer and tow vehicle will include the 12000 pounds and not the 8000 pounds of actual weight.

If your trailer is over 14,000 pounds, then you would need to get a Class A license non-CDL. You will need $11 to pay for your new license and you will have to take a test, make an application as well as prove you are an American citizen or legal immigrant.

Also, your current Texas license should not be expired, and bring in any glasses you may wear while driving. Once you bring all that to the Texas office, you wait in line until it is your turn to get a new photo, fill out forms, and take a color blindness test.

What is a Class A License in Texas?

There are two Class A licenses in this state. The first one allows you to dry commercial vehicles weighing over 26,000 pounds and for the purpose of money-making opportunities. This is the Class A CDL It has different requirements than the second Class A license.

The other Class A is known as the non-Class A CDL and it allows you to drive or tow vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds or a combination of weight that exceeds that mark.

This license allows you to drive larger RVs or tow trailers that are not only large but weigh when combined with the tow vehicle, over 26,000 pounds. When it comes to RVs, etc., weight is always going to be a factor in owning one.

If you do not have this license and you are pulled over for some reason and while driving a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds you could get a ticket and a fine.

The first offense is $200 and we are not sure how much you will pay after that one time. Don’t get caught drinking and driving or for being pulled over for multiple offenses. The fines are going to get a lot steeper.

Do not expect that the state troopers are ignorant of the laws governing Class A and B regulations. They are not and they are ready to enforce them. Don’t forget about the insurance company as your claim can be denied if you have an accident and do not have the correct license.

Non-CDL Class A/Class B


Some RV and trailer owners get confused as TExas only has 3 license categories. Those are Classes A, B, & C but the confusion comes in when they do not realize that those classes are divided into two parts.

There are the commercial and the personal use options. Many RVers think that they have to get a commercial license because of the weight of their RV or trailer and tow vehicle. This is not the case.

No matter the weight of your RV or trailer combination, you are exempt from all CDL regulations. You need to study up and see what the regulations are for your non-CDL Class A or B license and meet those.

The names of those licenses will be Class A, etc., exempt or Class A, etc., non-CDL. That makes it clear that the license you are getting is for non-commercial vehicles that you use for your own personal needs.

You will only need a Class A license when your RV or trailer combination exceeds 26,000 pounds. The actual weight of your tow vehicle does not matter. It is the rated tow weight that does matter.

So make sure you look at that figure when adding your trailer’s weight in with your tow vehicle’s tow weight limit.

How To Get a Class A License in Texas

The process is more tedious than complicated. You first have to go to your local Texas Dept. Of Safety office and stand in line. Once you get to the counter, you will be given two forms to fill out, or you can probably get those forms online and print them out.

Next, once it is your turn at the window, you hand in the forms and your current license. Then you will be sent to the spot where your vision will be tested. After that, you have to get a new photograph and submit your thumbprints.

When all that is over, you pay your fee and move to the knowledge testing area. This test is called the Texas Commercial Rules Test but you do not have to take the general commercial knowledge or the air brakes test.

There may be a commercial combination test that you will have to take if you are going to tow a trailer. The first test covers Section 14 of the handbook and the combination test covers section 6.

After passing these tests (you need to get 70% or higher), you take the skills test. That test must be taken within 3 months of paying your fee. You may have to schedule a time to do this last step.

Class A License Texas Cost


The fee is $11 and do not forget to double-check that as fees change all the time. But the $11 is not the only thing you need to bring with you when you make your application.

To speed up the process, download and print the two forms you will need-- Texas DPS Form DL-14A, Texas Driver License or Identification Card Application, and Form CDL-2, Texas Class A or B Driver License Application, Non-CDL Exempt Vehicles

Don’t forget to fill them out before turning them in. Then you will need the following items with you as well:

-- Proof of U.S. citizenship (or lawful presence), identity, Social Security registration, and Texas residency (use the Texas REAL ID Document Check Application to determine exactly which documents you need)

-- Current, unexpired Texas driver's license

-- Corrective lenses (eyeglasses or contacts) if you use them for driving

-- $11 (cash, check, or credit card) for the application fee

When you go do your skills test, you need to bring the following items:

-- Your current Texas driver's license

-- Eyeglasses or contacts, if you're required to wear them for driving

-- Proof of liability insurance

--Most recent registration receipt (of course, also be sure your current registration sticker is on each vehicle)

-- Most recent safety inspection report

-- Your ITD Program completion certificate

One word of caution, if you are bringing a tow vehicle and trailer for your skill test (and you have to bring your own vehicles to this test), you will need proof of insurance, registration, and safety inspection certificates for BOTH vehicles.

Also, you need to make sure the following are working and that you have both license plates on your vehicles

-- Headlights

-- Front turn signals & emergency flashers

-- Tail lights

-- Brake lights

-- Rear turn signals & emergency flashers

-- Horn

Or your vehicle will be deemed not legal to drive and you won’t be able to take your skill test until they are. There are other important details about the test and this process that you should talk to your local office and find out what they are.

Texas Class A Non-CDL Practice Test

The government office will not give you a practice test but that does not mean that they are not available. There are plenty of websites that do offer this service. Just take the time to search for them.

They will pop up. There is a practice combination test as well on the same sites. Be careful, though. These tests are not the same ones you will take but they are close to the real thing. However, they do get some of the answers wrong.

If you studied the proper sections mentioned earlier, you should spot those mistakes and make the correction. The driver’s license office goes by the answers in the handbook, not what these websites say is the correct answer.

These sites will also have practice CDL General knowledge tests but ignore those as that test is not required for the non-CDL Class A or B license.

How To Get Your Class B License in Texas


The process for the Class B license is exactly the same as it is for the Class A license. You do not need to make any special arrangements and the basic information is all the same.

The tests should be similar and covers Sections 14 & 6 for the questions. The key is to study hard and make sure you know all the answers. You get to miss 30% of the questions but why do that?

The passing grade is 70% and while that is all you need, knowing the correct answers to all the questions will help you when you drive. Also, the process at the driver’s license office is the same as are the forms you will need to fill out. The fee is the same as are all the requirements.

The only difference you will see is if you go for your Class B commercial license. Then the requirements and tests are a little different.

Class B Exempt License Texas

This license is needed in only 2 categories. The first is when your RV and tow vehicle meet or exceed 26,000 pounds and there is no trailer attached to the vehicle.

The second category is again when your tow vehicle or RV exceeds 26,000 pounds BUT the tow vehicle itself has a tow rating of 10,000 pounds or less. To help you understand the licenses, most Class A RV owners will only need a Class B non-CDL license to operate them.

Most Class B & C RV owners will only need a Class C license, exempt. Then 5th wheel owners usually need the Class A license and again, these designations are based on the GVWR not the actual weight of the tow vehicle.

Do not worry, your Texas non-CDL license is honored in all 50 states.

Some Final Words

Getting through the red tape can be a hassle. But once you do it and you are successful, you can have peace of mind as you travel the country. Making sure you have the right license is the most important step in RV ownership.

Also, make sure to not drink and drive. The state troopers do not take a kind view of those RV owners who do. Play it safe and you should have a great RV life no matter where you go.

Leave a Comment: